BigDummyKenny

No Something. No Another Thing. No Something Else.

A Picture Says 1,652 word bits…

Posted by RealDaffyDuck on June 24, 2011

As usual, all I need to do is provide a single picture (or, screenshot, in this case):

This was taken on Sukhumvit, about an hour ago. You can tell that the values provided (and the 3G icon in the menu bar) would not be possible via EDGE or GPRS. The carrier is TRUE.

Anyone else with an iPhone, feel free to upload your screenshots of the same speedtest app — I’d invite Kenny to provide the same irrefutable evidence, but we all know, he won’t.

Let’s see what you guys get…

4 Responses to “A Picture Says 1,652 word bits…”

  1. ASTTRU said

    I just arrived in Bangkok a couple days ago. I have a few things I’ll share when I have some free time.

    Quite amazing how much effort Professor Ng is putting into trying to salvage credibility. Regardless, the fact is you can use an unlocked iphone 3G/3GS/4G from AT&T in Thailand and have 3G service.

    • RealDaffyDuck said

      Hey there ASTTRU,

      Just send a screenshot, running speedtest, to upload and display in this thread with the screenshot. You can send it to me, and I’ll post it.

      “Quite amazing how much effort Professor Ng is putting into trying to salvage credibility.”

      I don’t understand how he can hope to salvage credibility by posting blatantly incorrect information, and claiming it’s true?

  2. ASTTRU said

    This screenshot was taken on Ratchada Rd near Fortune Tower with an unlocked 16gb iphone 3GS. As you can see, you can take an USA iphone that was locked to the AT&T network, unlock it and then get 3G service in Thailand.

    Unlike BBK, it’s not necessary for me to revise my original post. The information I provided is accurate. If you like your iphone and want to use it in Thailand, get it unlocked and get a True SIM.

    I’ve got additional information that will be of interest to readers in the USA who have AT&T as their carrier. I’ll write that up shortly.

    • Thanks – I’d be interested in that, myself.

      As far as I know, while jailbreaks exists for the latest baseband and iOS version, there wasn’t any unlock for the latest baseband. Are you running an earlier version of the baseband (ie the guys at MBK must have dialed back to an earlier version of baseband).

      Either way, I have factory unlocked iPhones, so no worry, but I can see how others can certainly benefit from this.

      I wonder if any screenshot from Kenny’s friend will be forthcoming (I’m not holding my breath)?

Leave a Reply

